Bricks and mortar

“We destroy arguments and every lofty opinion raised against the knowledge of God, and take every thought captive to obey Christ…” 2 Corinthians 10:5

Recently at work I’ve been transcribing a debate on the Existence of God for one of my professors. My job is to type out the arguments against the existence of God. Fun, fun. Everything he says I have to type. Here’s a snippet of my day: Play the video, stop, type, rewind; play, stop, type, rewind; play, stop, type, rewind; scan Pinterest for something interesting and try to calm down since he’s saying the God I love doesn’t exist; play, stop, type, rewind; “oh, my friend just posted on Facebook that she was chased by a wild turkey on her way to work…” (true story); play, stop, type, rewind, etc…

He argues that since evil exists, it is impossible for an all-powerful, all-knowing and perfectly good God to exist.  He says that the reasons given for the existence of God are unsound and does his best to convince his listeners of the evils of his opponent’s confusing ideas that God does exist. The obstinate man still hasn’t swayed my opinion. The Christian worldview is the only view I know of that gives a reason for evil in this world and the only religion where God enters into that suffering in order to Redeem it. So since I can’t argue with the man (…I would be the Duck in the above cartoon), I’m just about ready to plaster his car with post-it notes, put a hundred Pink Flamingos in his yard and toilet paper his house. If only I knew where he lived…

This little adventure has done one thing for me. I’ve become very grateful for people who can calmly think through and make valid arguments in the academic arena for the existence of God. I believe that there is a God and that the Bible is true because the Holy Spirit has illuminated my heart. But also, because it just makes the most sense to me. Christianity is not just blind faith; there are many reasons to believe it is true. There’s a C. S. Lewis quote that I love. I have no idea where it comes from but it reads: “I believe in Christianity as I believe that the sun has risen, not only because I see it, but because by it I see everything else.” That just about sums it up for me. Though I have reasons that I believe in God, I don’t think I would hold up in a formal debate, so I am truly grateful that there are men and women who are able to do such things.

As I’m continuing to read the biography of Patrick of Ireland, I’m struck by the different ways in which God used him and his contemporary Augustine. Augustine wrote numerous works and defended the faith against heresies with his mighty pen. People still enjoy his writings to this day. But Patrick, though he was not a novice in theology and was very orthodox in his beliefs, took the Good News into a dangerously pagan land full of druids, tribal wars and barbaric rituals. He won hearts (and probably some arguments) for Christ. Both Augustine and Patrick, though their ministries were vastly different, were completely necessary and they both did much for the Kingdom of God.

Every member of the Body of Christ (i.e. you, if you are a Christian) is essential to the plan of God. We each have our part to play. My role does not include formal debates with brilliant, though blinded and obstinate, scholars and I’m ok with that. But I gladly serve men whose roles may very well involve that and I have no doubt they will do wonderfully in that endeavor. They’ve been equipped by God to do so. In doing my part by serving them at work, I am freeing up their time so that they can write books, refute arguments, and teach students who are taking the Gospel to the ends of the earth.  My role (and maybe your role) may not be in the limelight, but it is important. Each part of the Body is essential to the rest of the Body. We are intricately connected to one another and each of our specific roles is vital.

 “For the body does not consist of one member but of many. 15If the foot should say, “Because I am not a hand, I do not belong to the body,” that would not make it any less a part of the body. 16And if the ear should say, “Because I am not an eye, I do not belong to the body,” that would not make it any less a part of the body. 17If the whole body were an eye, where would be the sense of hearing? If the whole body were an ear, where would be the sense of smell? 18But as it is, God arranged the members in the body, each one of them, as he chose. 19If all were a single member, where would the body be? 20As it is, there are many parts, yet one body.

1 Corinthians 12:14-20

About Carrie K

"I believe in Christianity as I believe that the sun has risen, not only because I see it, but because by it I see everything else" - C. S. Lewis
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

