At His feet


Tis the season for engagements, weddings, bridal showers, baby showers, and various other wonderful events that say that life is moving forward and becoming much more complicated. And here I am thirty-something and happily living the simple life of a single. Well, happy and simple most of the time but when the announcements and invitations fill up my mailbox, the enemy of my soul takes full advantage of the influx.  He is well aware of my weaknesses, my tendencies to gossip, bitterness, self-pity, among other qualities that blatantly show my lack of faith.

One such recent time when the enemy had me in his grip, ensnared and hindered, I found myself once again groveling, begging for God’s forgiveness and wondering how He could forgive me for my continued inability to love Him well in that area of my life. I was broken at His feet. But then, His sweet Spirit reminded me of the passages in Scripture when we find someone at Jesus’ feet. I tried to recall any place in Scripture where someone groveled and begged for forgiveness with a broken heart, but did not receive his mercy. I searched on biblegateway.com because I didn’t trust my memory and here’s what I found: people at his feet begging for healing and He healed them, people sitting at his feet listening to him and He taught them, Mary at his feet grieving and weeping for her brother Lazarus and He wept with her, women anointing his feet with perfumed oil or tears of gratitude and He accepted their worship. He never rejected anyone who came to him repentant or needy. He may not have moved in their preferred timing—Mary and Martha wanted Jesus to arrive earlier before their brother had died—but it was always in love and better than their imagining.

Then I thought about the passages when we find him kneeling at someone else’s feet – washing the dirty feet of the disciples. Even Judas’ feet. The one who started the avalanche that caused Jesus to be humiliated and beaten at the feet of the rulers in Jerusalem… which ultimately led to the piercing of Jesus’ feet at the Crucifixion.  Just three days later, though, the women and disciples fell at his scarred but alive and glorious feet and were met with tender care and love. Even in Revelation, when John fell at Christ’s feet in fear of the glorified and majestic Ruler of all things, Jesus touched him and told him not to fear.

The point I am trying to make is that Jesus is quick to respond with mercy. He is forgiving and loving. He does not make us grovel and beg for mercy not knowing what his verdict will be. What Satan was trying to do to me by accusing and pressing guilt down upon my soul backfired on him. It sent me to the feet of my Savior where many have gone before and have found the same beautiful response: mercy, love, pity, forgiveness, acceptance, and joy. Oh, those beautiful feet that walked the dusty earth—calloused, dirty, wept upon, anointed with oil, bruised and pierced for us. If I stayed at those feet I would be far away from the temptation of sin, but unfortunately, I am much more prone to wander than to wonder. But at least I don’t wander quite as far as I once did and I am much quicker to find my way back to my welcome position at His feet.

“How beautiful upon the mountains are the feet of him who brings good news, who publishes peace, who brings good news of happiness, who publishes salvation, who says to Zion, “Your God reigns.” (Isaiah 52:7)

About Carrie K

"I believe in Christianity as I believe that the sun has risen, not only because I see it, but because by it I see everything else" - C. S. Lewis
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to At His feet

  1. Pingback: The Light still shines in the darkness… | Surprised by Love

Leave a Reply

