God who sees

She gave this name to the LORD who spoke to her: “You are the God who sees me,” for she said, “I have now seen the One who sees me.” Genesis 16:13

The verse above has been a rich blessing to me this week. It was listed in the resource from my church’s website for the Names of God that I mentioned last week. The context of the verse is when Hagar was rejected by Sarai and Abram after they had used her to try to speed up the promise of God for an heir. Sarai treated her so harshly that she fled out into the wilderness and was left to die with a child growing in her womb. Hagar’s contempt toward Sarai and Sarai’s mistreatment of Hagar in Genesis 16 were both terrible and without excuse, but God used that awful situation to reveal a little more of His character and compassion.

God finds Hagar by a spring and tells her to go back to Sarai and Abram. He speaks words of comfort that she would have a son and, though he would be a wild-child, his descendants would become too numerous to count.  In this tender scene, God shows his compassion for an Egyptian slave woman who was used and discarded by his chosen, but still sinful, servants. In her amazement at His notice of her, Hagar names Him “the God who sees me”.

Each time this week that I have felt alone, forgotten, or left out of the promises of God, I have reminded myself of this Name of God: “You are the God who sees me”. My feelings may sometimes tell me differently. It may appear to me that everyone else in the world has been remembered and is getting the answers they want from God. It may feel at times like God has forgotten me. But I know from His Word that He is completely aware of everything that is happening around me and to me. He knows the desires of my heart. He knows what I need and what I want. And just like He took care of Hagar in the wilderness, He will take care of me. He is still “the God who sees me”.

7 Where can I go from your Spirit?
Where can I flee from your presence?
8 If I go up to the heavens, you are there;
if I make my bed in the depths, you are there.
9 If I rise on the wings of the dawn,
if I settle on the far side of the sea,
10 even there your hand will guide me,
your right hand will hold me fast.
11 If I say, “Surely the darkness will hide me
and the light become night around me,”
12 even the darkness will not be dark to you;
the night will shine like the day,
for darkness is as light to you.

Psalm 139:7-12

About Carrie K

"I believe in Christianity as I believe that the sun has risen, not only because I see it, but because by it I see everything else" - C. S. Lewis
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

