Visual aids

(You’re going to want to watch this in full screen and in a place where you can freely worship the Creator of such immense beauty…just giving you fair warning…)

          “The earth is the LORD’s and the fullness thereof…” (Ps 24:1)           “The heavens declare the glory of God and the sky above proclaims his handiwork…” (Ps 19:1)

Visual aids, it seems, have been the theme of this week. I am a visual learner; things just make more sense to me if I can see it and how it works. It helps me to have something I can see in my mind when I think about things…which may be why I sometimes have visions of cartoons when a friend is telling me a story…

This has been a busy first week of classes in seminary land. During one of my wonderfully full days, I was on the verge of getting frazzled so I took a break to peruse the offerings of Facebook. I was stopped in my tracks by the above video posted by several of my friends. My Lord knows how my brain works so I took this video as a loud whisper to pay attention to the Creator of all things instead of all the things that were pulling at my disordered mind. It was a beautiful visual reminder of what is actually important (worship of God, my Creator) and the way in which my priorities should fall (Him first and foremost…then everything else).

We’ve also had some unusually warm days for January which have provided other visually stimulated opportunities for gratitude and worship. It is supposed to reach 66° today. My irises are budding ready to welcome Spring with all their flourishing beauty and there are beautiful tiny blue flowers that greet me on my walk to work in the mornings. The poor things are very confused. I also discovered that what I had thought was just a cluster of leaves on a dead branch in a tree near my house is actually a squirrel’s nest. I was checking my mail earlier this week and heard a rustle behind me in the tree. There was a child-squirrel trying out some acrobatic moves around the nest. He was apparently also excited about the wonderful weather.

I love the variety of God’s creation. I love that we have large elephants and small birds, tiny blue flowers and gigantic redwoods, and within each species such an assortment. I can’t begin to count the different types of birds that are flocking to my feeder and singing outside my window these days. God didn’t have to make such an assortment of colors, shapes and sizes. But I’m so glad He did. We can see His creativity, His perfection and His beauty in the blueprints of Creation.

Another visual aid that was sent my way this week was this chart of God’s attributes. It’s a very helpful one page reference for who God has revealed Himself to be in Scripture. It even gives simple explanations to help remind you of what those big words, like immutability, mean (by the way, that one means “unchanging”… I have learned something during all my years at this seminary).

God gives us many visuals in Scripture. We have examples, like a father or a king, that give us an illustration that we can sink our hooks into in order to help us understand and remember what He is like. We also have examples of actual people in Scripture that make us long for the perfection of the role that they portray, like good King David, or the righteous Kinsman-Redeemer Boaz, or the courageous Leader Joshua. These should make us long for the perfection and reality of Christ. He is our greatest Visual of what God is like, for “in him all the fullness of God was pleased to dwell” (Col 1:19). Jesus is The Revelation of God:

Long ago, at many times and in many ways, God spoke to our fathers by the prophets, 2 but in these last days he has spoken to us by his Son, whom he appointed the heir of all things, through whom also he created the world. 3 He is the radiance of the glory of God and the exact imprint of his nature, and he upholds the universe by the word of his power. After making purification for sins, he sat down at the right hand of the Majesty on high… (Heb 1:1-3)

I am not really much for videos portraying the life of Jesus because I don’t want the actor’s face stuck in my mind as what Jesus looked like. And most of the time I don’t like the way Jesus is portrayed. He is either too impersonal or too soft or too weird or too just not who I know Christ to be. But this week, Justin Taylor, whose opinion I respect, posted a clip from The Gospel of John film which uses the book of John as its script and the actor actually reminds me of Jesus. Here’s the clip. I hope you are as blessed as I was:

Jesus and the Woman at the Well:

About Carrie K

"I believe in Christianity as I believe that the sun has risen, not only because I see it, but because by it I see everything else" - C. S. Lewis
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

