Surprised by Love

“I am my beloved’s and my beloved is mine…” Song of Solomon 6:3a

When I was a young girl the above video summed up my expectations of life. I was waiting for my prince charming to storm the castle, slay the imaginary dragon, sweep me off my feet, plant a kiss on me, and then we’d ride off into the sunset singing a duet. Then I got a little older and all I wanted was to meet someone wonderful, get married, have 2.5 well-behaved adorable kids, 2 cats (mine), 1 dog (my husband’s), a self-maintaining garden, a little house with a housekeeper and fresh flowers every day. That’s not too much to ask, is it?  As it so happened though, I continued to get older. My self-designated “prime years” passed by and still no prince charming.

As I’ve gotten older my romantic expectations have been met with more and more reality. I now have more realistic expectations (though I’m sure I’ll still be surprised when he doesn’t bring me flowers every day). But when I was in my lower to mid-twenties the thought of still being single in my thirties was a nightmare. How would I ever survive without a man to love me?

But I’ve been pleasantly surprised that love comes in many shapes and sizes. It’s not just the romantic swelling-music-while-you-sigh-and-gaze-longingly-into-each-other’s-eyes kind of love (which Song of Solomon, thankfully, gives Biblical grounds for…) but it is also the love of a child who runs to hug you and the love of a friend who goes out of her way to make sure that you have what you need when you are sick. It’s the love of a Dad and Mom who would climb a mountain to get to you if you were in need. It’s the love of a neighbor who comes over to talk to you and catch up on life. Love is all around. You just have to look for it and look for ways to be it to others.

I have seen God’s love for me in so many various ways that the lack of a husband isn’t nearly as empty as I thought it would be. God has been and is so faithful to me. I have never lacked for anything I have needed. My Shepherd and Provider has always been right beside me. My cup is full. And what more romantic storyline could I ask for than the one given to us in the Gospel?

A King sends His Son to a distant land not to win a beautiful princess but a dirty slave (John 3:16). A cunning and evil dragon (Rev 12:9) holds her captive making her live in darkness and filth (Eph 2: 1-3). The brave Prince passes numerous tests and temptations fighting His way to the one He loves (Heb 4:15). With great love and selflessness (Phil 2:6-8), the Son ultimately gives His life for her undeserved freedom (John 15:13; Heb 2: 14-15), while the dragon gloats in victory at His demise (1 Cor 2:8). But that wasn’t the end. Death could not hold the Prince (Matt 28:6; Acts 2:22-27). He is alive! He walks out of the grave to loose the chains of the slave girl (Rom 6:17), sweep her off her feet, dress her in royal robes (Ps 45:13; Rev 7: 14) and give her the strength she needs to be the Bride He deserves (Jude 24-25).

The Prince won the Day and subdued the dragon putting him to open shame (Col 2:15) but the dragon is not yet utterly defeated, though his end is sure (Rom 16:20). The Redeemed Princess, leaning on the mighty arm of the Prince, now fights beside her Hero against the sin and corruption wrought by the dragon in this world (Eph 6: 10-18). But one day soon, the Prince will destroy the beast completely (Rev 20:7-10) and take His Bride to His Father’s Kingdom where they will live happily ever after (Rev 21-22).

So in reality, my childhood dream has come true for me but in more wonderful and amazing ways than I could have ever imagined. I hope you can find yourself in this love story. Because this Love will last throughout eternity. If you haven’t yet and would like to, then look up the Scripture passages I mentioned. Turn your life over to Christ. Give Him reign over your heart. Believe that His blood was shed for your sins and ask His forgiveness for all the bad things you’ve done. He is kind and loving. He will forgive and cleanse you from all your sin. And you will find joy and peace for your heart.

“I will greatly rejoice in the LORD; my soul shall exult in my God, for he has clothed me with the garments of salvation; he has covered me with the robe of righteousness, as a bridegroom decks himself like a priest with a beautiful headdress, and as a bride adorns herself with her jewels.” Isaiah 61:10

About Carrie K

"I believe in Christianity as I believe that the sun has risen, not only because I see it, but because by it I see everything else" - C. S. Lewis
This entry was posted in Christianity, God and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Surprised by Love

  1. Beautifully written! This blessed my heart, thank you!

  2. Donna Burt says:

    Hey, Carrie…this is great! Love this “fairy tale”! The greatness of our God cannot be overstated!

  3. Pingback: Goodbye Friends… « trail mix

Leave a Reply

