“I remember the pit”

I came across this poem in a commentary on the book of Ruth. It could be read in Naomi’s voice or Ruth’s (or mine… or yours…)

The enshrouding darkness
Engulfs my being.
Alone.
Afraid.
My mind a whirlpool
Ever inwards
Towards an eternity of intolerable pain.

I used to reach out
A hand
Into the black unknown
In hope.
But my soul was torn from me,
And I hoped no more.

It was like a pit.
Unfathomable depth.
Tortuous groveling.
My tears the only sound
In the impenetrable darkness.

I remember that pit,
And the fear,
And the hopelessness
Of an eternal agony of mind,
And the soulless wandering
In uncharted desert.

Now I find myself at this oasis,
This unlooked-for harbor,
This refuge.
I did not deserve that gracious act
To pluck me from that all-powerful deep.

I had no hope,
But turning back along the path I came,
I see a gracious hand
And a loving smile.
I see a guiding light
And feel a protecting wing.

Nestling in your warmth,
My cold heart has thawed.
The blackness of my soul
Has blossomed into a million blooms.

My tears have turned to jewels,
And my bitterness to honey.

But I remember the pit.
Keep me, O Lord,
Safe
In the refuge of your wings.

Elizabeth

(From David Atkinson’s The Message of Ruth: The Wings of Refuge (Downers Grove: InterVarsity Press, 1991) pg 29-30.)

About Carrie K

"I believe in Christianity as I believe that the sun has risen, not only because I see it, but because by it I see everything else" - C. S. Lewis
This entry was posted in Christianity, God and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

