Ordinary answers

May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace in believing so that by the power of the Holy Spirit you may abound in hope.” Romans 15:13

My family went on vacation last week. It’s always a time of fun and snuggles with my nephews, and catching up on life with my parents and siblings. I love it…but am usually in need of another vacation afterward to recuperate (preferably on a quiet secluded island for a few days). Though my normal schedule was thrown way off—as it should be on vacation—I still tried to steal away when I could and have some time alone with the Lord. During one such time, as I was praying through my prayer cards (I do a tweaked version of the system in Paul Miller’s great book “A Praying Life”), I realized that the Lord has answered one of my prayers. It wasn’t a drastic, miraculous, extraordinary answer like the long prayed for request for my brother (which you can read about here) or the upcoming wedding of a dear friend who met her soon-to-be husband after many long years of waiting, but I can see the hand of the Lord in it nonetheless.

Sometimes the Lord answers our prayers in ways that completely blow us away and leave us speechless and in awe. At other times He answers in more subtle ways so that if we’re not careful or paying attention, then we’ll completely miss it. Romans 15:13 above is one of my favorite verses and has been a prayer for myself (and for some of my loved ones) for a while. I had realized some time ago that I didn’t have the joy, peace and hope that should mark a believer’s life. I was feeling anxious (and maybe a little depressed) which can rob anyone of joy, peace and hope. So I prayed.

The Lord answered that prayer by sending me to a health care provider who was able to diagnose and help the physical issues I was having. At that time I didn’t realize that my physical state was affecting my spiritual well-being but as my body began to heal, hope was rekindled. As I was praying last week, it dawned on me that by these “ordinary” means of overall health improvement, God had lovingly answered my cries for help and filled me with joy, peace and hope. And I praise Him for it. So very grateful.

What are some ordinary or extraordinary ways you’ve seen the Lord answer your prayers?

“For from him and through him and to him are all things. To him be glory forever. Amen.” Romans 11:36

About Carrie K

"I believe in Christianity as I believe that the sun has risen, not only because I see it, but because by it I see everything else" - C. S. Lewis
This entry was posted in Christianity, God, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

