Purity in uh, well…yeah, you know | Our Single Purpose

When I was single, I dreaded hearing “the purity talk” from married people. Please don’t talk to me about “waiting” and “guarding” and “abstaining” when I have no idea if I will ever marry and you’re enjoying the pleasures of marital bliss… Now here I am an old married woman (of two months) writing about sexual purity…hmmm…sorry…

But I am very familiar with the intense pull of temptation and the despair of not knowing when or if you will ever be able to conquer those “natural” cravings or find some relief. When my husband and I met we were both in our mid-thirties. Each of us had walked the long road of uncertainty and we both had things in our past that we regretted–things that we wish we could do over with the knowledge that we have now. But we had also both fully repented and experienced the abundant forgiveness that God through Christ provides for those who believe.

Before we married, we had “the talk” about our previous experiences, not detailed accounts, but enough that it hurt both of us deeply. It was honestly one of the most difficult conversations we’ve had. The most hurtful thing for me was to know the pain that my past sin brought him. So I want you to learn from my mistakes, fight the good fight and be encouraged in it…

To read more, go here:

Purity in uh, well…yeah, you know | Our Single Purpose.

About Carrie K

"I believe in Christianity as I believe that the sun has risen, not only because I see it, but because by it I see everything else" - C. S. Lewis
This entry was posted in Christianity, God, Religion and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

