I am thankful for my years of singleness. | Our Single Purpose

I am thankful for many things during my single years but there are a few things that I learned through those years for which I am especially grateful.

I learned how to deal with bugs when I am alone. I learned to overcome my fear and disgust and pick up a shoe and squash it. OR if I’m feeling extra brave (and it’s not a spider), I learned to corner it in a container and put it outside.

I learned about money—how to manage a budget, how to balance a checkbook, and how to keep up with my monthly bill payments. I learned how to be financially savvy and stay out of debt while working my way through a master’s degree. I learned that I could trust the Lord to provide for me when I had no idea where my next meal was coming from.

I learned how to sincerely rejoice with others when they celebrated receiving something that I also wanted (and sometimes something I had wanted for much longer). This is not to say that it wasn’t a struggle (and it can still be a struggle), but it is easier now than it was.

I learned how to bravely go places by myself—like a concert or a church or a restaurant. I learned that if you take a good book with you, you can go just about anywhere by yourself and just be seen as the quintessential introvert.

I learned to serve. I learned how to contentedly hold a sweet squirmy baby through an entire church service so that her momma could relax and enjoy the service. I learned how to take a meal to a family that was going through some hard times. I learned to really look at others and see ways that I could help them with the free time (though it wasn’t really that much) and resources that I had. This was a significant and practical way that I learned to get my mind off of myself and out of my pity-party-for-one.

I would not trade my single years for anything, not even for meeting my husband earlier. I learned so much and grew to know and trust the Lord in a way that I doubt would have been possible for me as a married woman. I am grateful for the foundation of trust, hope, and love that the Lord laid during those years. I hope you see your singleness as fertile ground for a sweet and wonderful relationship with Christ as your true Husband. May it be blessed!

~Carrie Kelly

via I am thankful for my years of singleness. | Our Single Purpose.

About Carrie K

"I believe in Christianity as I believe that the sun has risen, not only because I see it, but because by it I see everything else" - C. S. Lewis
This entry was posted in Singleness and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

